Copyrights © 2006. Canadian Deaf Curling Association
All rights reserved.
History of the
Canadian Deaf Curling Champions
Back in the beginning of 1979 at Port Moody, BC four male rinks and three female rinks helped to start the CDCC on their way in March at the Port Moody Curling Rink.  At that time, they carried the designation of their home cities, all of western cities:  Vancouver, Edmonton, Saskatoon, and Winnipeg.

Then, on the following year came to the new destinations of Ontario (ON) and Quebec (PQ).  In the next few years came Nova Scotia (NS), New Brunswick (NB), and Prince Edward Island (PE), Newfoundland (NL) became the last provinces to be integrated with nine other provinces on the tenth year of curling championships held in Montreal in 1988.  However, on the women side, two provinces that had regretfully not been formed yet were Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island for entering Montreal in 1988.  In 1992, there was a new entry from Northern Ontario (NO).  Before 1992, Northern Ontario was not included in the designated boundary area set by the Canadian Curling Association (CCA).  However in 1991, Ontario Deaf Sports Association (ODSA) and CDCC delegates approved new boundaries for CDCC.  The boundary for Northern Ontario now covers Ottawa, Kingston, Belleville, Oshawa and Barrie.  Other boundaries in Ontario include Metro Toronto, Mississauga, London, Sarnia, Waterloo, Chatham, and Windsor.  The boundary line is from Wasaga Beach to Ajax.

An attempt to for the National Deaf Curling Championships was made in 1976 (this was a prerequisite in able to apply for curlers to be included in the decision of the Federation of Silent Sports of Canada, now renamed as Canadian Deaf Sports Association).  A meeting was called by former President William McGovern on the presentation of Ronald D. Fee's dream of establishing a first National Playdown in 1977.  However, nothing further was declared due to lack of responses from other provinces, despite FSSC's decision to have the required number of entries with at least five provinces.  It was not until 1979 when Ronald Fee, being Deaf himself, took a daring risk to undergo the restriction or technical rules fell in the hands of FSSC.  As the matter of fact, the national deaf sports body eventually showed a courageous man.  It was a great success on his first venue with the aid and support of the British Columbia Deaf Sports Federation when four men rinks and three women rinks were first to compete there at the national level.  Now the Championships became a reality as it grows a great intensity of enthusiasm amongst the deaf curlers across Canada for many years to come.